China University of Political Science and Law

General Information
China University of Political Science and Law (CUPL) is a multi-disciplinary national key university specializing in law, accompanied by other disciplines such as arts, history, philosophy, economics, management and pedagogy. The University is listed as one of the “211 Project” Universities directly under the Ministry of Education. Located in Beijing, the school is in two campuses. The old one is at Xueyuan Road of Haidian District and the new one is at Fuxue Road of Changping District.   
The University was founded in 1952 by merging the disciplines of law, politics, and sociology from Peking University, Yenching University, Furen University and Tsinghua University, and was originally known as the Peking College of Political Science and Law. It was relocated to its present Xueyuan Road campus in 1954 and resumed its operation after being closed down during the Cultural Revolution. In 1983, it was renamed as China University of Political Science and Law after the merger with Central Carder’s College of Political Science. In 1985, the University opened its new campus in Changping District. Since then, a three tiered educational pattern has taken shape, specifically the school of undergraduates, the school of postgraduates and the school of advanced training. The advanced training school has been temporarily separated from the University with a new name “Central Carder’s College of Political Science,” And remerged with the University in 2000.
During the last half century of development, the University has educated and trained more than 200,000 students, and taken part in virtually all national legislation activities since the founding of the People’s Republic of China. It took the lead in China’s jurisprudence theoretical innovation and conceptual updating, and conducted international academic exchanges in the field of law on behalf of the nation.
Students and Schools
Currently, the University has 14,416 full-time students, including 8,433 undergraduates, 5,753 graduates and 322 foreign degree students. Among its faculty of 906 members, 152 are doctoral supervisors, 574 are master supervisors and 627 are professors or associate professors. Over 85.04% of the faculty possess master’s degree or higher. 
The University is comprised of 19 schools and departments. They include the School of Law, School of Civil, Commercial and Economic Laws, School of International Law, School of Criminal and Judicatory Law, School of Political Science and Public Administration, Business School, School of Humanities, School of Foreign Languages, School of Continuing Education, School of International Education, Marxism School, School of Sociology, School of Master of Laws, School of Journalism and Media, School of Confucians, Extension Center for Senior Cadres of Political Science & Law Administration, China-EU School of Law, Department of Science and Technology, and Physical Education Department.
Research Institutes and Degrees
There are also 10 research institutes in the University, namely the Institute of Procedural Law, Institute of Chinese Legal History, Research Base of Government by Law, Institute of Evidence Law and Forensic Science, Institute of Comparative Law, Institute of Ancient Chinese Legal Works, Institute of Human Rights and Humanitarian Law, Legal Education Research and Evaluation Center, Law and Economics Center, Institute of Globalization and Global Issues. Among them, the Institute of Procedural Law and the Institute of Chinese Legal History are key research bases of Humanities and social science of the Ministry of Education; the Institute of Evidence Law and Forensic Science is a key laboratory of the Ministry of Education, and the Research Base of Government by Law is a base of philosophy and social science of the Beijing municipality. 
At present, the University offers 17 undergraduate programs including law, reconnoiter, politics & administration, administration, international politics, public affairs administration, business administration, economics, international business, philosophy, Chinese language & literature, ideological education, sociology, applied psychology, English, German, journalism. In addition, there are 47 master's degree programs, 19 doctoral degree programs and 2 post-doctoral research stations. Among them three PhD programs are national disciplines at the first class level, namely the law, politics & administration and Marxist Theory among which the law is a national key discipline at the first class level. 10 master programs are disciplines at the first class level, namely philosophy, theoretical economics, applied economics, sociology, psychology, foreign languages and literature, journalism, history, business administration and politics & administration.
The University has established international cooperation agreements with 119 world-famous universities in 33 countries and regions. Hundreds of teachers and students are sent abroad each year for academic purposes. In 2008, the China-EU School of Law (CESL) was established, which is the most comprehensive joint program in legal Education between the Chinese Government and the EU. With the development of the CESL, an elite program of cultivating internationally-oriented legal talents has taken shape in the school.  
Address: No. 25, Xitucheng Road, Haidian District, Beijing