Beijing Travel Advisor
Online Beijing Travel Service

Send Your Enquiry

Name:
Country:
Email:
If the verification code is not so visable, please refresh it and try again.

Beijing Fahai Temple

Fahai Temple is located at the foot of Cuiwei Mountain, two kilometers northeast of Moshikou, Beijing. In 1439, the fourth year of the reign of the Ming Emperor Zhengtong the construction of the Fahai Temple started, and it was completed in the eighth year, 1443. Emperor Zhu Qizhen inscribed the stele of the temple, which makes it famous among numerous temples in Beijing. The main constructions are respectively built on three terraces. On the first terrace is the Hall of Gateway; on the second is the Hall of Four Gods, and on the third is the Grand Hall of Buddha, around which is the Hall of Masters.

There are many legendary stories related to the Fahai Temple's Buddhist-Fahai, of which the Legend of White Snake is the most moving tale, an ancient love story.  
 
Fahai Temple is noted for its murals, which are represented by the mural painting the auspicious clouds behind the three-life Buddha, the mural painting the Buddhists attending a meeting, the mural behind the shrine painting the three Masters and the mural on the back wall depicting Brahma worshipping the Buddha. They all adopt the traditional Chinese realistic painting method characterized by fine brush work and close attention in detail. Fine, delicate strokes, meticulous painting and exquisite colouring have made the murals distinguished among murals found in Beijing.  The Ming Dynasty frescoes, cover an area of 236.7 square meters. According to expert assessment, the murals of Fahai Temple represent the highest mural art standard of Ming Dynasty. Not only can they compare with the frescoes of Dunhuang and Yongle Palace, but also rival Western masterpieces of the Renaissance.
 
Further Information:
Address: Moshikou, Shijingshan District, Beijing
Bus Route: Bus No.31 1, 336, 337, 396, 746, 747, 959, 965, 972, 977; Underground railway to the station of Pingguoyuan, transfer to Bus 336 or 396 to Shougang Xiaoqu, then take Bus.311 to Moshikou Dongkou.
Opening Hours: 9:00-17:00 (winter 9:00-16:30)
Visit Contents: Authentic works and video programs about murals created in Ming Dynasty, Pictures of Dunhuang Murals and Yongle Palace Murals.
Nearby Sights: Badachu Park, Tianyi Tomb, Glacier Vestige and Philanthropy Temple